RWWA's logo

Inductee 2010: Chris Lewis

Hall of Fame

Chris Lewis was sixteen years old when he had his first race drive in South Australia and won with Classic Heir in an era when there were no concessions given to newcomers.

Chris is the only Western Australian to won two Inter Dominions after the success of Carclew in 1976 and Village Kid in 1986.

He is the leading Western Australian driver all-time so far as the Inter Dominion is concerned with 14 wins from two finals and 12 heats.

The first of more than 2000 Perth winners came in June 1976 behind Burgundy and with a career total in excess of 4000 winners, including two in Moscow and one in the USA, Lewis is one of only three Australian drivers to have passed this milestone.

Chris has won eight Perth Driver's Premierships and has an unprecedented 27 successive Top Five finishes on the Perth Premiership between the 1983/84 and 2009/10.

He has won a total of 14 State Drivers Premierships surpassing the previous record of 13 shared by Fred R Kersley (WA), Ross Sugars (SA) and Tony Turnbull (NSW).

Chris earned further national honours in 1995 when he beat Victorian ace Chris Alford to claim Australia's Leading Driver Title (wins) with a then Australian Record tally of 211 winners.

He is regarded as the best big race driver in the State and has driven more than 40 Group One winners in races that include the Inter Dominion, WA Pacing Cup, Fremantle Cup, WA Derby, WA Oaks, WA Golden Slipper Stakes, Australian Pacing Championship, M H Treuer Memorial, WA Golden Nugget and NSW Miracle Mile.

He is the only Western Australian reinsman to win at Group One level in each of the five mainland States in Australia. 

Community TAB Partners

© 2015 Racing and Wagering Western Australia. Terms & ConditionsPrivacy PolicySitemap