RWWA's logo

Wongan Hills Therapy Group Wins Community TAB Community Service Award

Wongan Hills Therapy Group

Wongan Hills Therapy Group has won the prestigious Community TAB Community Service Award at the 2017 Regional Achievement and Community Awards. Wongan Hills Therapy Group won the Award from a strong field of nominees and was one of eleven category winners announced on Friday 20th October at the Hyatt Regency Perth. The Awards were hosted by Noel Brunning, GWN7 News Presenter.

500 guests gathered from across the State including official guest Hon Stephen Dawson MLC, Minister for Environment; Disability Services, to celebrate regional Western Australia’s high achievers and community contributors.

Wongan Hills Therapy Group is a not-for-profit disability support group, started by local parents to provide essential services and supports for families with special needs children. They have weekly therapy programs and the Wheatbelt’s only special needs resource library. The group relies on a dedicated team of volunteers and collaborates with the local school, professional therapists and community groups.

The eleven category winners are:

Wongan Hills Therapy Group – Community TAB Community Service Award

Pilbara Meta Maya Regional Aboriginal Corporation of Wedgefield – Rinehart Development of Northern Regional WA Award

Dr John van Bockxmeer of South Hedland – Horizon Power Leadership and Innovation Award

Southern Cross Care - Victoria Park Aged Care of Kalgoorlie – Prime Super Employer Excellence in Aged Care Award

Cory Payne of New Norcia – Insurance Commission of Western Australia Regional Safety Award

Nathan Groch of Port Hedland – Worldwide Sports Award

Neville Talbot of Mount Clare – Curtin University Teaching Excellence Award

The Kyle Andrews Foundation of Broome – RAC Volunteering Award

Chestnut Brae of Carlotta – Harmony Agriculture and Food Co Agricultural Innovation Award

Wattnow Electrical of Derby – Prime Super Business Achievement Award

Dunsborough Primary School – LandCorp Sustainability Award

Dr John van Bockxmeer was later announced as the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development Overall State Winner.

Winners each received a $2,000 Award prize from Foundation Partner, Commonwealth Bank and a trophy. Dr John van Bockxmeer also received a $2,000 Award Prize from the Commonwealth Bank, as well as a $3,000 Award prize from the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development and a State trophy.

Cory Payne was also announced as the CBH Group People’s Choice Award winner and received $500 courtesy of CBH Group.

The Awards night culminated a tremendously successful year with over 320 nominations received from across regional Western Australia.

Community TAB Partners

© 2015 Racing and Wagering Western Australia. Terms & ConditionsPrivacy PolicySitemap