RWWA's logo

Inductee 2012: Miss Andretti

Hall of Fame

A Winner at Royal Ascot

Despite great ambitions, trainer David Mueller couldn't afford to buy a horse at the 2002 Perth Yearling Sales. As recounted in “Princess, the Miss Andretti Story”, by John Hunt, Mueller lowered his sights and attended a mixed dispersal sale. When outbid for a weanling, his dreams were shattered. A mate of Mueller's, Ray Cochrane, could see his disappointment and invited Mueller back to his property, offering him any one of seven weanlings. A filly galloped straight at them, and Mueller easily made his choice despite the horse having no proven bloodlines. He shook hands with his friend who gave him Miss Andretti for nothing but a verbal agreement for a small percentage, in the event she ever won a race.

Miss Andretti exceeded all expectations by winning nine of her first 13 starts. Mueller then sold a 75 per cent share in the mare and she was transferred to the stables of trainer Lee Freedman in Melbourne. She excelled as a sprinter and won 10 of her next 13 starts for Freedman, all in top company. This included the 2006 Manikato and Schillaci Stakes, and the 2007 VRC Lightning Stakes, VRC Newmarket Handicap and MVRC Australia Stakes.

Her most notable victory was on Tuesday 19th of June in 2007 when she won the King's Stand Stakes at Royal Ascot in England and broke the course record over 1000m. After the race, American and European syndicates offered up to $10 million for Miss Andretti, but the offers were rejected.

Over her career, Miss Andretti won 19 races and was placed five times from 31 starts. She set five track records and won $2.8M in prize money.

An Outstanding Sprinter

Miss Andretti's career is a horse owner's dream story. She cost nothing and started favourite in 25 of her 31 sprints in a period of just 3 years. She won the Australian Horse of the Year crown in 2007.

Her first foal was sold for a remarkable $460,000 at the 2011 Magic Millions sale on Queensland's Gold Coast.

Principal Race Wins

2005 WATC Winterbottom Stakes 
2005 WATC Prince Of Wales Stakes
2006 MVRC Manikato Stakes
2006 MRC Schillaci Stakes 
2007 MVRC Australia Stakes
2007 VRC Lightning Stakes
2007 VRC Newmarket Handicap
2007 VRC The Age Classic 
2007 GB King's Stand Stakes 
2007 MVRC Schweppervescence Stakes

Community TAB Partners

© 2015 Racing and Wagering Western Australia. Terms & ConditionsPrivacy PolicySitemap