RWWA's logo

Perth Cup And Galaxy History

Trouper Monelli

This Saturday night sees the running of the Group 1 SKY Racing Perth Cup (520m) and Sky Racing Galaxy (715m), the showpiece evening of chasing at Cannington.

Orson Allen is the well fancied runner in the Perth Cup, while the Galaxy looms as a one act affair with Australia’s best stayer Tornado Tears engaged.

Despite Orson Allen being favourite for the Perth Cup, recent history of the race points to another chaser that can’t be ignored this weekend.

In three editions of the Perth Cup at the new track, box one has produced the winner every time with Ima Wagtail (2016), Equanimity (2017) and Trouper Monelli (2018) all successful.

Australian Cup winner Hecton Bale, now under the care of Enzo Crudelli, has the inside box this week and is a $10 chance with TABtouch.

Prior to the move to the new Cannington track, box one produced 11 of the 40 Perth Cup winners.

Box three is the next winningest with eight, while box six is the least successful with just one winner.

Enzo Crudelli, who won the race with Equanimity, will be looking to join Linda Britton as the only trainer to win the race more than once.

Britton won the race with Wynlee Supreme in 1992 and Bliss Bale in 1999.

Paul Stuart, who won the race in 2013 with Dyna Nalin, can also join Britton as a multiple winner when Campini and Eighty Eight line up in the event.

Tornado Tears has been supported into $1.12 for the Sky Racing-Galaxy, where he will jump from box four.

A winner at 22 of his 32 starts, Tornado Tears gets the chance to emulate the feat of his brother Rippin’ Sam, who won the Galaxy from box four last year.

The star chaser, known as ‘Batman’, smashed the 715m Cannington track record in his heat, running a sizzling time of 41.25.

Like the Perth Cup, box one has been the most successful in the Galaxy’s 36-year history, producing nine winners.

Box four and box eight have both produced five winners of the race.

Linda Britton has compiled a formidable record in the Galaxy, with five winners, while the late Keith Harding was successful in the race on three occasions.

Stuart has also enjoyed success in the staying feature, with his star chaser Miata winning it in 2012 and 2013.

He has Rockstar Patriot engaged in this year’s edition.

Robert Britton has also had two winners in the race, but Chris Halse has the training duties of Tornado Tears this year, meaning he won’t be able to join Harding as a three-time winner.

Saturday night’s Perth Cup meeting gets underway at 7.12.

Tim Walker

Community TAB Partners

© 2015 Racing and Wagering Western Australia. Terms & ConditionsPrivacy PolicySitemap